Sunrise

With the combination of warm weather and relatively late sunrise times (6:30 ish), I really had no excuse not to set the alarm early and head out to Ocean Drive to watch the sunrise.  Acadia National park is one of the first places on the east coast to experience sunrise, and the fact that I saw not one other person in over an hour really made me feel like the sunrise was all mine.

This is also the first time I attempted to photograph sunrise, and while I wasn’t thrilled with my results, I got a few shots that are pictured below.    Practice makes perfect, and strangely, even after getting up so early, I found myself to be very energetic for the rest of the day!    I’m sure the 75 degree temp that day didn’t hurt; it were as if myself and everyone around me were coming out of hibernation!

If you want to see some AMAZING sunrise photos of Acadia (wonderful photographs period), please visit my fellow blogger, Mainer, and Acadia enthusiast David Patterson’s blog:   www.storiesfromhome.wordpress.com

 

I was intrigued by the almost "borealis" effect in the sky on this exposure.

 

 

 

I liked how the early morning light brought out the pink in the rocks, especially on the mountaintops.

 

That lobster boat went by at just the right time!

 

 

 

About Carol Page-Potter

Widowed at 49, now 60+ and ready to ruminate about what I've learned from that experience and all that followed.

Posted on March 23, 2012, in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. David Patterson

    Don’t you just love how the granite almost glows at first light? Love the lobster boat and sunrise, and thanks for the shout-out!

    PS. Climbed South Ridge of Cadillac yesterday… beautiful day!

    • Yes, it was a beautiful morning. Wow, Cadillac! What a great day for it, although, while I hate to complain it was actually kind of hot. 🙂 And I hope some of my friends pick up on your blog; your photos inspire me to keep practicing and learn more about my camera and photo taking, and I know they inspire others.

  2. Oh, Carol, I think these are just so pretty. Perfectly serene the way a sunrise should be. 🙂 Boy you’re so lucky to live in such a beautiful environment.

  3. Karin Anderson

    Stunning photos, Carol!
    We enjoyed having you over for tea. I wish you success with you lettuce bed, and, please, feel free to use any of the herbs.

  4. Karin Anderson

    Put the sunrise photo up as my new desktop background – so relaxing to look at.

  5. Yeah, you did it! Just lovely!

Leave a comment