View From the Front

I recently posted some pictures about ordinary treasures found in my backyard. Today, I’d like to share with you what my “front yard” looks like.

Around the Roost 031

That’s right, a marina!    Looking out my front windows I can watch the daily activities of one of the local marinas here on the island.   This time of year it’s pretty quiet, although they were pulling boats out of the water right up through the middle of January.   I can also see the fishing boats travelling through the Knapp narrows as they head out into the bay for their work day.

One of the things I enjoy is looking at the names that people pick for their boats.   The first one is my favorite at this marina because of the play on words with the local geography (Knapps Narrows).   The others are just fun.

 

 

Around the Roost 026

 

Around the Roost 027

 

 

 

 

Around the Roost 032

 

 

Just a few steps beyond the boat yard are the actual slips.    Late on this winter’s day, it is a peaceful view looking across.   The homes you see are located on the mainland, so Tilghman is just barely an island!

Around the Roost 036

 

The clouds were pretty above the masthead on this sailboat, and if you look closely you can see the half-moon.

 

Around the Roost 029

 

Finally, a peek at my winter rental as IT looks from the marina.

 

 

Around the Roost 037

 

 

About Carol Page-Potter

Widowed at 49, now 60+ and ready to ruminate about what I've learned from that experience and all that followed.

Posted on January 30, 2013, in Life on the Island and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I really enjoyed this posting!

  2. Definitely a nice view from the window. And when they look back they have a view on “Cat House”.

  3. What a lovely place you are renting with a great view!

Leave a comment