Lovely Lupine

A few days ago driving past this location, I noticed the lupine was blooming.   I have been eagerly awaiting the arrival of the lupine, as it is one of my favorite “wildflowers” of coastal Maine.   Lupine thrives in cool, moist climates, and my attempts to grow it in hot and humid Pennsylvania (where I used to live), were doomed to fail.

Image

The earliest I had ever been to Maine (before moving here), was about the third week in June, and by then the Lupine were beginning to fade.   So when I spotted this meadow on the outskirts of town, I was excited to get out there with my zoom lens and see what I could capture.

 

Image

 

This meadow is private property, and while it isn’t marked as “no trespassing”, I like to be respectful of privae landowners, so I didn’t want to intrude too much on their privacy.  I did “step over the line” to capture these lupines in “close up”.

 

Image

 

In this location, purple was the most prevelant color, but there were sprinklings of pink and white lupine as well.   Aren’t they beautiful?!   

The meadow is bordered by two roads, and as I hiked along the road opposite from where I started, I was happily surprised to see three deer grazing in the meadow among the lupine.   A bonus to be sure, and made me REALLY glad I had my long lens mounted on the camera.

Image

 

Image

 

It is always a treat when you get to see wildlife while walking, so in spite of the clouds, I was really glad I took the chance to shoot photos today!   The “lovely lupine” will likely last another couple of weeks, so this may not be the last you see of them on this blog!

 

Image

 

About Carol Page-Potter

Widowed at 49, now 60+ and ready to ruminate about what I've learned from that experience and all that followed.

Posted on May 31, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. David Patterson

    My favorite flower! Nice find, and the deer make the scene even more picturesque. FYI… there’s a huge field of Lupine up along the road to Beech Hill Cliffs above Echo Lake – awesomeness! And someone once told me you could find Lupine out on Bar Island… I have yet to confirm that though.

  2. Thanks! Keep those Lupine pictures coming! So pretty! I’ve only ever seen small patches here and there on our travels.

  3. beautiful wildlife and flowers.. : )

  4. It looks to be such a lovely and peaceful place.. it’s hard to encounter wild animals here in the West part of France because every piece of land is used for human purposes.

Leave a comment