Farewell to Tilghman Island

Six months certainly does go by quickly!    There were some weeks when time seemed to move very slowly on this island.   Frustrated by a lack of nearby hiking (okay, make that lack of nearby anything), I struggled to find ways to keep myself energized and fit.

The lack of distractions DID force me to focus on completing my manuscript “Moments of Panic, Moments of Peace”, so I can say “Mission Accomplished” on that score.   As we speak, query letters are on their way to agents and small publishing houses.    Should that approach yield no results, I will investigate self publication.

As time passed, I did develop a (grudging) appreciation for this place; primarily through bird watching and sea glass hunting.

From here I head back to Pennsylvania (more on that in my next post).   In the meantime, here are a few of my favorite shots from my “Time on Tilghman”.

Tilghman, Nov 2nd 017

Above:   Black Walnut Point – at the tip of the Island.

Blackwater Trip 2 010

ABOVE:  A great heron fishing, a common sight.

Tilghman Day one 006

ABOVE:  The dock at the end of my street, the day before “Sandy” arrived.  My first day on the island!

Blackwater Trip 1 001

ABOVE:   Fog over Blackwater Marsh, a National Wildlife Sanctuary, about an hour’s drive from the island.

Otters at Pickering Creek 014

ABOVE:   River Otters at Pickering Creek – a decent place to hike and only 25 miles away!  🙂

Around the Roost 031

ABOVE:  Living across the street from a working marina – always something interesting going on.

Cats and Writing 010

ABOVE:   Where Pebbles and Bam Bam spent most of their winter days.

Seaglass 003

ABOVE:   Hunting for sea glass became a pleasant diversion.

Ospreys 008

ABOVE:  My last few weeks here I enjoyed the company of nearby Ospreys.

Blackwater Trip 2 048

ABOVE:  A board walk in Blackwater Marsh, and an appropriate symbol for the journey of my life.

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on April 19, 2013, in Life on the Island and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I suspect why these docks and boardwalks appeal to me. Please keep us posted on your book.
    eM

  2. Looking forward to seeing it published!

Leave a Reply

