Return of the Osprey

One of the delights of living in this rural area of the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay has been the variety of birds I see.   From songbirds visiting my feeders, to herons and gulls, ducks and geese, and flocks of red-winged blackbirds; watching the birds this winter has been a real treat.

But the greatest pleasure has been the prevalence of raptors.   Seldom does a day go by that I don’t see a bald eagle, red tail hawk, shin tail hawk, cooper’s hawk, or some smaller falcons that I have yet to identify.    But each spring one of the largest of the hawks, the osprey returns to fish the river and bay water that surrounds this area.

Just down the street from me, at the water’s edge there is platform with an osprey nest, and about three weeks ago I thought I spotted one flying overhead, and when I walked down the block to see if they were in the nest, indeed they were!   A splendid pair.

 

Ospreys 002

 

I am intrigued with how they return to the same nest each year, and how they choose to build their nests in such open, unprotected areas.

 

Ospreys 008

 

I think this must be a fairly young pair as their nest is not nearly as large as some of the others I have seen.   Aren’t they beautiful?

 

Ospreys 012

 

The folks that own this place must get such enjoyment out of seeing these birds every day.   I was hoping one might take flight while I was visiting, but they seemed content  to just hang out on the nest, so I had to settle for a shot of a mallard duck in flight over the bay (below).

 

Ospreys 013

 

 

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on April 7, 2013, in Life on the Island and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Christopher McDaniel

    Good shots. And that owl standing at attention toward the flag is very patriotic.

Leave a Reply

