Ocean Drive, revisited

Winters here along the eastern shore of the Chesapeake Bay are considerably milder than those on Mount Desert Island, Maine. Snow is almost non-existent, and when it DOES snow it is a dusting, and disappears as soon as the sun comes out. My friends in Maine are experiencing a more “typical” Maine winter this year; with plenty of cold temperatures and snow. And while I don’t envy having to deal with all that cold and snow; I DO miss the amazing beauty of Acadia National Park in the winter.

I was able to capture the photographs below on a morning last winter after a recent snowfall. When I look at these pictures, I can still remember the crispness of the air, the smell of salt and pine, the amazing blue of the sky and seas, the whiteness of the snow, and dark green of the pine trees. It was one of the beautiful sights I have ever seen. Here are a few of my favorites from that magical morning.

 

 

Ocean Drive Snow Fall 042

 

Ocean Drive Snow Fall 038

 

 

 

Ocean Drive Snow Fall 023

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on February 21, 2013, in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. “I can still remember the crispness of the air, the smell of salt and pine, the amazing blue of the sky and seas, the whiteness of the snow, and dark green of the pine trees.”

    Those comments transported me there!

  2. Richard Anderson

    Acadia misses you!

  3. These photos are beautiful, Carol. The snow seems gentle to me, with the sky so blue and the sea so calm. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

