A Cute Couple

Otters at Pickering Creek 027

The weather the last few weeks has been pretty dismal. Lots of wind, fog, and rain has made for cool, wet, and muddy hiking. On Friday I woke up to sunny skies and the promise of a dry day between rainy weather systems. On my way back from running errands, I made a side trip to Pickering Creek, a facility operated by the Chesapeake Audubon society. I had been here once before, but had only hiked a short section of what they call the “Farm to Bay” loop which follows the shoreline of Pickering Creek (hence the name), which flows into the bay.

 

Otters at Pickering Creek 001

 

At the point where the trail turns into the woods and heads back to the parking area, I came across a small boat house.  In front of the dock were numerous fallen trees partially submerged in the water, an ideal area for otters.

 

Otters at Pickering Creek 002

 

When I stepped onto the boat ramp, I heard a large splash in the water and spotted first one than two river otters.     From their scolding I could tell they were none too pleased that I had interrupted their sunbathing on the logs.    They certainly were a photographic pair!   After I had pestered them with my picture taking for ten minutes or so, I let them get back on with their river otter lives, while I continued on my walk.   I also saw three dear and a great blue heron, but they were not posing for pictures.   The otters were the highlight of my day!

 

Otters at Pickering Creek 019

 

 

Otters at Pickering Creek 007

 

 

Otters at Pickering Creek 011

 

Otters at Pickering Creek 014

 

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on December 29, 2012, in Hikes, Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Carol
    Your walks are fascinating and I enjoy going with you in my mind. Your posts are very vivid and makes for wonderful adventures. Thanks for sharing!
    Rita

  2. What a funny encounter! And, as usual, great photos!

Leave a Reply

