Wye Island

On what (I think) was last day of full sunshine we had here on the Delmarva (a week ago now), I visited the Wye Island Natural Resources Management Area which is s of operated by the state of Maryland.    The island consists on 2500 acres of land.   Formerly used strictly for agriculture, the island is now managed for agriculture, recreation, and protection.    Highlights include a 250-year-old Holly Tree which I was unable to see due to deer hunting taking place in the area on the day I visited; so stay tuned for more about that.

I was able to drive the length of the gravel road that winds through the area and hike a short trail out to the beach of the Wye River.

Wye River 014

I enjoyed seeing a variety of birds here, including blue birds, pileated woodpeckers, which for the first time I saw flying with a three-foot wing span, and a red tail hawk who kept his head hidden behind a tree branch (see below).    I did manage to get off one decent shot of a blue bird, and even after close cropping I see that I will need to add a bigger lens to my Christmas list.   🙂

Wye River 024

 

 

Wye River 010

 

And new (to me) was finding this outhouse along the trail.   Guess you never know when you’re going to need a “pit stop”.

Wye River 012

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on December 12, 2012, in Life on the Island and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Beautiful! And I look forward to seeing that holly tree. The most whimsical public outhouse I ever dumped upon was on Lopez Island, San Juan County, Washington—colorful paints, dried wildflowers, and magazine stocked.

  2. That looks like Narrabeen Lake where I kayak on Sydney’s northern beaches!

  3. Awesome photos. The blue bird one is amazing.

Leave a Reply

