Blackwater Marsh

Thanks to the kind invitation of a fellow blogger and photography enthusiast who learned that I was living in the area, I got to experience this wonderful National Wildlife Sanctuary about an hour’s drive from where I live.     Comprised of 27,000 acres (mostly tidal marshland), it provides much-needed habitat for migratory fowl and many year round birds including a healthy bald eagle population.  In addition the refuge supports a wide variety of reptiles and mammals.

I enjoyed it so much, that two days later when my sister and her husband came to visit, I took them to see this beautiful refuge.    We enjoyed several short hikes, and found a great pull-out spot to eat lunch and watch the birds.

Below:  Morning fog lifts from over the sanctuary’s marsh.

 

Below:  Herons and Bald Eagles abound

 

 

 

 

 

 

Below:   There was great debate about whether or not this was really a turtle due to the cold temperatures.   The consensus, was yes!  We saw a turtle!  🙂

 

 

 

 

Below:  Another view of this lovely area with the fog lifting. 

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on November 27, 2012, in Hikes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Brrr…poor little turtle. Thanks for sharing this wonderful place of nature.

  2. I always love your pictures! Thanks for sharing.

  3. You captured some beautiful shots. I espeically like the ethereal feel of the photos with the fog. Nice!

  4. Wow that looks great, excellent photos, and I love a good marsh!

Leave a Reply

