New Roads to Travel, New Bridges to Cross

Greetings from Tilghman, Maryland!     After two days of driving, (and surviving Hurricane Sandy) we are settling in to our new “home”.    Well, home for the next six months.    Pebbles and Bam Bam I think will enjoy it here – lots of windows and a big yard for viewing birds and other wildlife.

Finding this house was pure serendipity.    As I was contemplating the situation with my parents, and the desire to be geographically closer to them I took out a map and drew a 250 mile radius around the town where they live.    From there I looked at what locations were near large bodies of water.   The Chesapeake Bay area stood out.   So I jumped on Craig’s List and BOOM found this house.   Perhaps not the most scientific way to make a decision, but it accomplished the goal.

Below:    A reminder that life is in constant motion.

 

Moving to Maine last year was all about “reconnecting with life”.    This move is all about getting that experience (as well as what preceded it), down “on paper”.    I’ve made a contract with myself, and I have a few people lined up to help hold me accountable.   I’ll be writing, three hours a day, six days a week.  Yes, there will be time built-in for exploring, hiking, photography, and continued reflection, but this “new road” is all about capturing my own experience and insights.   Hopefully, it will help others going through similar experiences.   My philosophy is even if it helps only one other person, then it will have been time well spent.

I never would have imagined my life as it is now, nor would have I chosen to take this path.   But that’s the thing about life, just when you think you have your journey all mapped out – roads get closed, bridges collapse and burn, detours appear.    Then you have to take new roads and cross unfamiliar (and sometimes frightening) bridges.       But the key is to not look too far ahead, for when you do you start to anticipate, make assumptions, plan and imagine (both good and bad things).   And when you do that, you miss what is right in front of you.     I’ll never throw away my maps for they DO come in handy.   But I’m learning to cross one bridge at a time, and to not allow my mind to wander too far ahead down whatever road I’m on.

Below:  Knapps Narrows Bridge, from the mainland to Tilghman Island, my new base of operations.

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on November 2, 2012, in Ruminations and Philosophy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Another adventure awaits and another bridge is crossed. You write very well, Carol, and I’m sure your “book” will serve others well.

    This grief stuff is an on-going process, one of learning to let go without confusing that with forgetting and learning to live with an ever-present absence. The relationship continues, for sure, but on a whole other level. In some ways, I suppose, we’re better people for having to go through this but, all-in-all, I’d much rather not have to do it….give me my old self with Nancy and I’d be alright with that.

    Sincere best wishes and thoughts as you move forward (or go in circles if that works for you).

Leave a Reply

