October at Eagle Lake

Although we have yet to have a frost here on the island, the days are definitely getting cooler.    Yesterday morning was chilly and the wind was blowing, but I was determined to get out for a good, long hike.

I was hoping to find some nice shots of changing leaves to photograph.   Although you can hike a carriage road loop, my plan involved a couple of detours so my hiking distance was going to be around 7 miles (roughly 11km).   That’s pushing my limits for one hike, but it was a beautiful day and I had plenty of water, energy bars, and time.

On my detour over to Bubble Pond I passed this lovely little marsh area.

 

 

When I got to Bubble Pond, I found that the angle and brightness of the sun were not favorable, so I settled for  playing up the dramatic clouds and mountains that surround Bubble Pond in black and white.

 

 

For my return trip around the south and west shore of  Eagle Lake, I took the Lake Shore path, which while beautiful is a trail fraught with obstacles of rocks and tree roots.   See if you can spot the blue blaze trail signal in the picture below.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on October 12, 2012, in Hikes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Picture postcards!

  2. That really looks spectacular. Wonderful range of photos.

Leave a Reply

