Portrait of a Tree – Right Outside my Door

I live in town.   Nothing close to a city to be certain, but for a small town we have fairly “high density housing”.    The age of the town also means that there are numerous old trees that provide welcome shade and character to our streets.

I was pleasantly surprised to find just such a tree right outside my front door.  Over the seasons it has provided a varied and interesting canopy (and view) to an otherwise crowded house and yard landscape.

Now it is beginning to slowly shed its leaves in anticipation of the next season.   Below, are a series of photos I’ve taken over the months since I arrived.    This tree (by now), feels like an old friend.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on September 8, 2012, in Life on the Island, Portraits of Trees and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. “I think that I shall never see a poem lovely as a tree.”

  2. I purposefully moved to the northwest to live among the trees here. They’re lovely living things.

  3. I know that tree!

  4. And not only the beauty of it ! Only after we had to cut down the ant ridden maple in front of the house we realized what difference in temperature it made for the house. SIGH!

Leave a Reply

