Something to Crow About

Those of you who have been following my blog for some time know that I have been surprised and disappointed by the lack of bird activity here on the island.

One species that there is no lack of are crows.   There are two common types here, the Fish Crow and the American Crow.    These birds are frequent companions on my hikes, and I have developed a new appreciation for these creatures since spending more time in their company.

I know that many people consider crows to be a terrible nuisance, and in great numbers they can cause considerable destruction to crops.   However, they have demonstrated themselves to be among the most intelligent of the birds and even animals in general.   Their numbers have declined by 45% since 1999 and the introduction of the West Nile Virus into the bird population, yet they remain a “species of least concern”.   (Personally, I don’t understand how anything can be a species of least concern; but that’s a discussion for another time).

 

I have enjoyed watching these birds interact with another and have been amazed at the variety of vocalizations that they make.    Studies have shown that crows even have the ability to recognize and distinguish one face from another!   A couple of years ago, I read this most interesting book about crows.   It isn’t a long read and it opened the door for me to have a much greater appreciation of crows.   I highly recommend it.

 

Crow Planet: Essential Wisdom from the Urban Wilderness [Hardcover]

Lyanda Lynn Haupt

Lyanda Lynn Haupt (Author)
Find all the books, read about the author, and more.
About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on August 22, 2012, in Life on the Island. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I concaw wholeheartedly. And I was sad about the lack of song birds here, too, missing my wake up chorus from Germany.

  2. If interested, A Murder of Crows (that’s the term for a group of them) viewed on PBS a while ago. You may be able to view it online if it hasn’t been removed from the queue.
    They are highly intelligent and resourceful birds.

  3. michaelofyorkshire

    crows… hense the influence they have had in the work of stephen king, also a bird of Maine.

Leave a Reply

