Moon Rise – Time Lapse

We’ve just had our first full moon for the month of August (two this year, hence the phrase: “once in a Blue Moon).     The heat and humidity had me up late last night, and I decided to sit on my patio and watch the moon make its appearance for the night.

I set up my tripod so I could take long exposures, but I rather forgot about the fact that I had some of my camera settings set to black and white mode.

I live in town, so my view of the night sky is mostly obscured, which makes the “glimpses of light” that much more exciting!

In between the new construction next door, a tree and a rope swing, the moon is coming up, and the clouds are moving out.

 

This next exposure (3o seconds) shows how rapidly the clouds were moving out toward the ocean.   I rather liked the end effect in the this shot.  (personal taste, I know)

 

 

And finally, the moon is almost “free” of the trees, and one last wispy cloud blows by.

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on August 4, 2012, in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a great idea! I love these! Maybe I should request a triptych for Xmas!?

  2. You almost hear the eerie howling of the werewolf….

Leave a Reply

