Beauty for Beauty’s Sake

As I have mentioned in earlier posts, my kind neighbors have invited me to use their yard for walking my cat; as this is a “week-end” home for them.  In spite of the fact that they only make it to Bar Harbor about once every 4 or 5 weeks they have managed to create a lovely little yard filled with beautiful flowers.    There always seems to be something new blooming.

 

When I was a homeowner, I did enjoy having my own garden.  While vegetable gardening bringsits own  very delicious rewards, flower gardening is really all about appearances.   It is “beauty for beauty’s sake”.

 

Whenever I see a beautiful flower garden, I can’t help but wonder who created the first “flower garden”, and from there contemplate the long evolution of developing plants for flower gardens, creating “hybrids” and establishing floral traditions.   Just imagine that many of the plants that we now take for granted as “regular garden flowers” began thousands of generations ago as a wildflower; very likely far removed from its present day appearance.

 

 

I feel very fortunate to have grown up in a home where gardening (both of vegetables and flowers) were a daily part of my life.  I also remember both sets of my grandparents gardening – one for food, and one for the perfect rose.

What part of our DNA stimulates the desire to be surrounded by beauty?   And when did that desire begin?   (I assume it was once we mastered the art of survival and had energy to devote to such pursuits – research Maslov’s Hierarchy of Needs to understand more).  When there is so much ugliness in the world around us, how fortunate we are to be able to bring beauty into our lives through a simple flower.

 

 

So today, wherever you are, take time to:  “appreciate beauty for beauty’s sake”  After all, sometimes the only purpose a flower serves is to simply “look pretty”.

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on August 1, 2012, in Photography, Ruminations and Philosophy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. The first frame is like a beautiful flora painting!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

  2. Christopher McDaniel

    Beautifully put.

Leave a Reply

