Acadia’s First Light

The last couple of days (and nights) have been unseasonably warm here in Maine, and with no air conditioning, it makes for uncomfortable sleeping (I detest being hot).   So when tossing and turning  at 3 a.m. this morning, I decided to try and turn a negative into a positive.   I got up and drove  to the Ocean Path to watch the sunrise, which is getting later, it now happens just after 5 a.m..

 

 

The air was already heavy with humidity and the haze (thanks to the big city smog that drifts this way during these conditions) was hanging over the horizon.     Most people who get up (or stay up) to watch the sunrise this time of year choose to go to Cadillac mountain as it is touted as being the first place on the east coast of the United States to see the sunrise.   But I wanted to be along the water, and as it turned out, I had the entire stretch of road and rocks to myself.  I saw one biker as I was entering  the park, then did not see another car or person for the next hour!

 

 

So as I hiked along the ocean path, stopping here and there to photograph the rising sun, it was just me, the seagulls, the crows, ducks, and of course, the mosquitos.

 

BELOW:  The stones of “Boulder Beach” looked very white in the early morning light.

 

If I was going to be awake, what better place to start the new day?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on July 14, 2012, in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Gorgeous – and how different things look with that exposure to light.

  2. The second sunset photo is lovely (to my eye, anyway). You need to finally jump on the Facebook timeline format and make that your cover photo. Look at me…telling you what you need to do. D’uh! I didn’t mean to do that but you have so many wonderful photos from your experience up there almost any one of them would make a great Facebook cover. Enjoy your summer!

  3. Way to go! Sunrise! Wish I was there to see that.

  4. David Patterson

    Look at you up early enough and on the shore to see the sunrise 🙂

    Beautiful photographs.

Leave a Reply

