I…..Love a Parade!

I honestly cannot remember the last time I went to a parade.   So since the Bar Harbor 4th of July parade was passing less than a block away from me, I really had no excuse not to check it out.   Besides, the students who are studying at the BioLab this summer (the place where I work) had a float, and they wanted me to come out and support them.    Who can say no to that?!

 

It is rumoured that Bar Harbor is one of the “best places to celebrate the 4th of July”, and this does seem to be “THE” holiday here.   While Christmas was low-key and laid back, the town goes all out with festivities running from 10 a.m. – 10 p.m..

BELOW:   Scenes from the Mount Desert Island Bio Lab group

 

 

 

One of things that I found surprising as I watched the parade go by; was how many people (after only 7 months here), I had connections with.   Talking with my neighbors, people from my Zen group, my landlords, the students at the lab, and fellow volunteers and staff from Friends of Acadia made me realize just how many people I’ve met in a relatively short period of time.

BELOW:  Some of my favorite people in the world – Acadia National Park volunteers.  EVERYONE related to the park got a BIG round of applause from the crowd as they passed by.

 

 

 

 

 

Unfortunately, I missed the lobster races due to a combination of rain showers and a camera malfunction (which thankfully I was able to fix, although I do think I have lens motor burning out – overuse perhaps?).    I did, however, get to enjoy the fireworks even though it turned foggy – I’ve never seen fireworks in the fog before, so it was all good.   Some of them actually looked pretty cool in the fog!!    And WOW, I have NEVER seen that many people in Bar Harbor before – how great it is to be able to walk to everything!!

 

BELOW:   What would a 4th of July parade in Bar Harbor BE without people in American flag shorts and lobster hats!

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on July 6, 2012, in Life on the Island and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Americana at it’s best!

  2. You MISSED the LOBSTER RACES!!!! *sob*

Leave a Reply

