Study of a Bridge in Black and White

Those of you who have been following my blog know that I am enamoured with the bridges built along the system of carriage roads here in Acadia National Park.

The walk around Witch Hole Pond begins and ends (for me due to where I park), at the Duck Brook Bridge which serves as one of the entry points to the carriage road system.

 

This bridge was built in 1929 and is the only triple arch bridge among the seventeen bridges in the park.   As you can see in the picture below, there is  series of steps that lead down the underside of the bridge and afford you better looks at the details of the bridge and the fast flowing brook that runs beneath it.

 

 

I love the architectural details on these bridges, and in keeping with the period in which they were built, I decided to shoot them in black and white mode.

 

 

This bridge has several turrets where the pedestrian can safely stop and view the wonderful scenery; the brook below or the waters of Frenchman’s bay to the north and west.

 

 

And not being able to resist those steps I showed you earlier, here is a view of one of the turrets looking UP.   I thought these next two photos give a fine perspective of the detail and workmanship that went into the building of this bridge.

 

 

These bridges are truly “works of art” in their own right, and I love I see something new and different every time I look at them.  Hope you enjoyed this “study” in black and white!

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on June 11, 2012, in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. David Patterson

    Love the bridges and love the black and white! Removing the color really does focus on the shapes, lines and details. Nicely done.

  2. These pictures are some of my favorites! I may have to hit you up for a print or twelve!! Bridges are my favorite architecture!

Leave a Reply

