Peace and Quiet at Eagle Lake

While the crowd slowly builds in Bar Harbor and along Ocean Drive, the “locals” are enjoying the less obvious spots on a glorious spring Saturday.

Pulling into the parking area at the Eagle Lake Carriage road, I grabbed the last available non handicapped parking space.   Nice to see those restrooms opened again.    My adventures with using the outdoor, woodland latrine appear to be over for several months!   And enough said on THAT matter.

This would be only the 3rd time I had hiked the entire circumference of the lake.  The trip is about 6 – 6.5 miles staying on the carriage roads, but I like to take the lake shore trail where it cuts away from the carriage road and hugs the lake shore for about 1.25 miles of the trip.   It is a challenging section of trail, and on New Year’s Day this trail kicked my butt (note to self – STAY on the carriage roads in winter).

 

 

The water was high and clear, and there were numerous spots where I had to leap from stone to stone (Karate Kid anyone?).   Definitely, a good balancing exercise.    There is a section of moderately intense “bouldering” as the trail winds along  the edge of the lake.   The option is to hike the carriage road around and over a small mountain, but you lose sight of the lake, and I was feeling a need to view that crystal clear water.   Also, as bike traffic picks up the carriage roads, taking this stretch of trail gets you away from that and back to more solitude.

 

 

If you look closely, you can see that the deciduous trees on the hills surrounding the lake are starting to leaf out with their green buds.   It is interesting how in town, where I live, the trees are 75% leafed out, where here, a mere 4 miles inland the trees are only 25% leafed out.   I continue to be amazed at the variation and variety that occurs within this small geographic area.

Back on the carriage road, and nearing the end of my walk,  I passed one of my favorite benches.  I have yet to find another like it in the park.  It has no marker, I don’t know who built it or who put it there, but it is a beautiful granite bench, and it beckons me.

 

 

Why yes, thank you, I WILL “set a spell”.   And so I did.

 

 

Enjoy your week, where ever you are and no matter what you are doing.      If it goes well, cherish it, if it is a tough week, remember; all things are temporary and “this too shall pass”.

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on May 14, 2012, in Hikes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I did that hike in 1996 – those times when, during one short vacation, I hiked more than in 5 years of living next to the park.

Leave a Reply

