Two more….. bridges……

That leaves only two more to find.   Saturday, I was back out on the Amphitheater Carriage road to search for two more “stars” on the map.    Along the way, I got to hike a really enjoyable section of the Amphitheater trail (see previous post).    The two bridges included in this post are two of the oldest bridges in the carriage road system – one small and one rather grand.

 

 

Hiking the carriage road to get to this bridge was a fairly steep hike for 1/2 to 3/4 of a mile.     The bridge is situated near the top a bowl shaped ravine, hence the name, Amphitheater Bridge.    In the photo above, I try to give you an idea of the long, sweeping curvature of this bridge which is quite stunning.

 

In the photo above you can see the arch and the beautiful detail.   The detail at the top is unique; none of the other bridges have this type of design.    Another view of this “weave” detail is pictured below.    As you can see, the road was designed to apex at the center of the bridge.

 

 

There is a lovely waterfall off to the one side of the bridge.  However, it has been so dry here this winter and spring, that the waterfalls and streams are running shallow.    I fear there won’t be much water to enjoy this summer if we don’t soon get some rain.

 

 

After exploring the Amphitheater trail which led me back down the mountain and through the ravine, I came to the next bridge on my list; the Hadlock Brook Bridge.    This bridge is much more simplistic in its design and is reminiscent of several of the other smaller bridges throughout the carriage road system.

 

 

As you can see from the date stone, this is one of the oldest bridges in the system, and like the others, underwent a major restoration about 10 years ago.    It won’t be too many more years before we’ll be celebrating the centennial of the these wonderful roads and bridges!

 

 

We will take a break in our “bridge search” for at least a week as a trip to Schoodic Peninsula (the only part of Acadia National Park located on the mainland), and a hike up Pemetic Mountain (the fourth largest peak on the island) are on the agenda for the week ahead.

 

 

 

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on April 16, 2012, in Hikes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. David Patterson

    Nice. A project I have in mind is to travel by bicycle and photograph all of the bridges in one foggy day. Thanks for the glimpse at so many of them.

    • That is a great idea David, but that IS alot of riding!
      I have the same thought about the Witch Hole Pond area – to shoot those cool dead trees sticking out of the marsh in the fog. BTW, do you carry a tripod with you when you hike? And also, what filters do you consider “indispensible”? I’m wanting to build up my inventory of camera gear. I do have a tripod, and while it is lightweight, it folds down to 3 feet long, still a bit bulky for hiking.

      • David Patterson

        Carol… I do carry a tripod – absolutely indispensable in lower light (and for slowing you down – a good thing for composition usually). I have a lightweight tripod for when I am hiking any distance, and a heavier one for when I’m not going too far, though I find myself using the lighter tripod more and more. Mine folds down to about 20 inches and attaches right onto my camera backpack. Other than UV filters that I keep on to protect my lenses, I have two: a circular polarizer which can help remove glare off rocks/leaves and “deepen” some colors, and a 6-stop neutral density filter which holds back the some of light and allows for longer than normal exposures (tripod again becomes necessary).

      • Thanks for that feedback David. I do have “skylight” filters on my lenses for protection,and polerizers (when I remember them), but I wasn’t sure which direction to go with the neutral density filter.

      • David Patterson

        The neutral density filter is kind of a “specialty” item. Depending on how strong it is, it will allow you to get the smoothed water effect even in the middle of the day, though we are looking at really long exposures… anywhere from 10-15 seconds all the way to minutes long. Not always for everyone, but certainly another creative tool.

      • Hmmm, interesting. I will price and ponder these devices. 🙂

Leave a Reply

