A late winter’s hike around Jordan Pond

Spring has come early to the island.   Here it is only March 18th and we hit 60 degrees!   I’ve been eagerly awaiting the opportunity to hike around Jordan Pond.   The last time I actually hiked around the pond (some years ago), it was so foggy you couldn’t see but 50 feet in front of you.

I don’t think I really realized until today, how many deciduous trees there are on the Bubbles mountains.   They both look rather “naked” this time of year.   I noticed on my walk that the trees along the shore of the pond were pushing buds, so it won’t be much longer before the mountains are covered in green.

I began my hike along the north side of the pond shore where the trail sticks close to the water’s edge and Jordan Cliffs (a more strenuous hike for another day) rise on your left.

Today was about keeping my hike on a relatively level hiking surface as I was breaking in my new pair of hiking boots!   It has nothing to do with my ladder encounter on Dorr Mountain earlier in the week……I swear!

Aside from the spectacular weather, I enjoyed some interesting sights.   I found evidence of beavers working on trees along the shoreline.

Sights like this make me very curious.  Is this the work of one beaver?   How long does it take them to gnaw through a tree this size?    And below – mission accomplished.  Naughty beavers!   Which reminds me – does anyone else remember that cartoon – “The Angry Beavers”?    I don’t think these beavers were angry, but they certainly were industrious!

I also discovered this really interesting and (I thought) beautiful fungi growing on a small tree stump.   It was all creamy white, so I thought it looked better as a black and white photograph.

But the star of the day were the clouds over the mountains and cliffs.   This next shot reminded me of Devil’s Tower in Wyoming and the movie “Close Encounters of the Third Kind”.   I really liked the contrast of the stand of bare birch trees against the granite and blue and white sky.

So a most interesting and enjoyable hike today, with varied scenery, fun discoveries, and a warm breeze!

Hope the weather is just as delightful in your location!

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on March 18, 2012, in Hikes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. David Patterson

    Carol… I was at Jordan Pond this morning while it rained some very heavy raindrops. The ice was definitely starting to melt, and by the end of this week I wouldn’t be surprised to see it all gone. Love the “Devil’s Tower” of birches.

Leave a Reply

