Reminiscing

Had a lovely Facebook chat recently with my stepchildren, which got me thinking about my numerous trips to Acadia and MDI before becoming a year round resident last November.  **Disclaimer, some of these photos were not taken with my current camera gear**

Matt, Don, Kristen and Amy at Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse

Nothing gives me more pleasure than sharing my favorite place with friends and family.  It is so much fun to see the expression on their faces when they see for the first time places like Sand Beach, Ocean Drive, Jordan Pond, and Bass Harbor Head Lighthouse to name just a few.   And each time I remember the thrill I felt the first time I visited this area more than 25 years ago.

My dear friend Becky at Jordan Pond on my first visit to Acadia, circa 1987

 

Over the years, it has been my great privilege to share this place with numerous friends and family (I really think the National Park and/or the state bureau of tourism should put me on the payroll).

Hiking on Schoodic Point circa 1996

One of the most special trips I made to Acadia was the first time I brought my  late husband and my three stepchildren.   During that all too short week there were many fun and wonderful moments:

  • The kids asking if someone had put all the large pebbles at Little Hunters Beach ala Disney World .   Answer:  Nope, just nature.
  • Having a family vacation with NO TV.  Once they got over the shock, it was a fun-filled week, and no one missed the noise box.
  • Watching the kids climb over the rocks along Ocean Drive for the first time.   Totally in the moment.  Amy, FINALLY not caring what her hair looked like by the end of the week.
  • Watching my late husband hoping (in vain) for Thunder Hole to actually Thunder.  Unfortunately all it did was gurgle, and I have the video to prove it.   Giving it a new name:  “Thunderless Hole”.
  • The thrill of my stepchildren thinking that wildlife was coming by our cabin each night and eating the apple cores, etc. they kept leaving, when all along it was their father sneaking out after they went to bed and removing the food, and never telling…………

On Cranberry Island

Those are just a few of so many wonderful memories from that trip, among many others.   Don and I enjoyed many more trips to Bar Harbor and Acadia before he died in 2007.   This included another family vacation, trips with a couple of our best friends, my sister and her husband, as well as just the two of us.     And this is where his children and I (accompanied by those same wonderful friends and family that had joined us on other trips)  brought his ashes to be scattered in 2009.   And we were able to introduce  Acadia to the NEXT generation, two of his grandchildren.

Taya and I at Sand Beach

Hunter at Sand Beach

And now here I am, spending the entire YEAR living in this wonderful place.    Remembering so many good times, and spending quality time here to continue to heal and reconnect with life.  Every day I wake up and am so grateful for the gift of this place – Acadia, and for the peace it is bringing to my life.

Sunset over Frenchman's Bay

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on February 22, 2012, in Ruminations and Philosophy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Love, love, love it!! Our “stepchildren” are really our hearts and it is so fun being a part of their lives…even when the going gets a little tough!!!! Seems you are going deeper and digging up some covered wells…….if that makes sense!!! Blessings always, Judi

  2. Lovely pictures!….Arcadia is quite the “place” isn’t it? I’m so glad you got to spend this time in a wonderful place full of promise…and memories!

  3. So glad we got to be a part – times two – of your experiences at Acadia. A blessed part of my life both times.

Leave a Reply

