Portrait of a Tree – IV – Being aware

A very common sight along the trails of Acadia are tree roots.   They come in all sizes; large and small, and can quickly bring the unwary hiker to their knees (or worse).   While this (need for attention) makes for a good meditative practice, the balancing act is to enjoy the scenery but watch where you are stepping at the same time.       The photo below of this very large pine tree root is a potent reminder of the importance of awareness.

So here is your zen thought for the day:  When I am aware I am fully present.   When I am present I am truly experiencing each moment as it is given to me.   And in experiencing each moment I am living to my potential.

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on February 12, 2012, in Portraits of Trees, Ruminations and Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Nice photo – where did you take it?

  2. Karin, this is along the Ocean Trail between Otter Cliffs and Otter Point.

  3. It could be that the trees pay more attention to the path than do we. Collecting pebbles and making crevasse for mossy carpet, uprooting the straight pathed intentions of settlers and embracing our Great Mother with arms of aged strength. The tree seems very wise and caring to me, I have always found great protection within their cracked skin and scented arms. How beautiful that you have captured my sentiments in a photo, dear friend.

  4. If trees could talk, what would they tell us about their lives…Lovely photo, Carol…I must say, your blog is lovely and so is Acadia, no wonder you up and left to make it you home.

Leave a Reply

