A Short Walk

After battling a sinus infection for the last ten days, I was finally able to get out for a decent walk today.     A good exercise (the sinus infection) to remind me of the principle that “all things are temporary”.    After too much sitting, laying, Netflix, and reading it felt great to get out into the sunshine today for a decent hike.

My original plan to was to head over to the Jordan Pond area and hike some carriage roads, but they were still a sheet of ice from the  snows, rains, thaws, and refreezes we’ve been having this last month.   (Again, all things are temporary – REMEMBER).   So darn it, I guess I’ll have to hike along the ocean AGAIN (what a wonderful plan “b”, yes)?

In the shot below, I loved how the pattern of the clouds, the rocks, and the reflection of the sun on the water all mirrored one another.     Beautiful symmetry!

Good spot for reflection, or a picnic!

As I was hiking along the trail, I passed the plaque mounted into the granite recognizing John D. Rockefeller Jr. for the land that he donated toward Acadia National Park.   I found the closing line most interesting where is talks about him dedicating this land “for the cultural, physical, and spiritual enrichment of the American people”.       A good thought to ponder for the remainder of my walk.   I know MY spirits certainly are lifted after being in this place.

Nature finds a way

I spotted this small growth of shrub tucked in among the rock ledge facing the ocean.  I continually marvel at the determination of nature in the face of harsh environments and improbable odds.    This isn’t the time for a diatribe on taking care of environment, but I will say this:  If we fail to improve the odds for our planet, we will suffer the consequences – I believe the tilting point is fast approaching.

It is up to us to maintain the stewardship that was created by the establishment of our National Parks; Acadia being one of them.   That stewardship extends far beyond our park system, to our neighborhoods, our counties, our states, our nation, and our world.   There is no back up planet.

 

 

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on February 4, 2012, in Hikes, Photography, Ruminations and Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You are blessed with such freedom and beauty!!

Leave a Reply

