St. Saviour Church

Due to the ice, my hiking has been temporarily suspended (hopefully not until spring), so I’ve had to look for other diversions.

Today, at last, I was able to manage a decent walk around town, thanks to above average temperatures, which will vanish tonight as temps go to single digits again, once more turning everything liquid into solid ice.

I decided to photograph what I think is one of the prettiest structures in Bar Harbor:  St. Saviour Church.

 

This beautiful structure built from granite stone and wood was first completed in 1876.  Here is a brief blurb from the church’s website:

“St. Saviour’s Episcopal Church is the oldest, largest and tallest public building on Mt. Desert Island. The church is named for the French Jesuit Mission, “Saint Sauveur,” which was established on the island in 1613. In 1871, land was purchased, upon which the first church was constructed.”

The church has been expanded and changed over the years to accommodate more people.  During the summer months they boast congregations of up to 1000 people.  Personally, I think they are there to see the inside of the church :-).  The interior of the church IS magnificent, I went to a Christmas concert, not the least of which are the stained glass windows by Tiffany.  Again, a quote from their website:

It is claimed that St. Saviour’s has more Tiffany windows than anywhere else in Maine! There are ten beautiful examples of Louis Comfort Tiffany’s technique and artistry here at St. Saviour’s. We have a total of forty-two stained glass windows in all.”

Gives you some idea of the amount of stained glass they have

Unfortunately, I was not able to go inside today, but perhaps I will ask permission to go in and take some photos for my blog.

One of the things I like about this church is that they have a cloister.   I always thought that cloister meant “shut away or secluded”, but I also learned (thanks to the church’s sign) that it can mean a “covered walkway often used for meditation and prayer”.   I was able to access the cloister, and it is a very peaceful  area.

I love the feeling of infinity the arched windows lend to the cloister

The other thing about the exterior of the church that caught my eye, was the bell tower, which looks to be original.   The bells do chime to announce the hour.

 

Church Bell Tower

I hope you enjoyed this look at one of Bar Harbor’s oldest institutions.    The old graveyard next to the church also looked interesting, but still too covered with ice to investigate.

View looking across the graveyard

One final note.  There is also a mountain here on the island named after the Jesuit mission St. Sauveur, which I hope to hike this spring!

About Carol Page-Potter

I am a woman in the midst of reconnecting with life after the death of my husband.

Posted on January 18, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Dick and I were able to go inside this beautiful church when we were last in Bar Harbor. We went in and sat down for awhile to absorb the beautiful windows. Dick got some pictures at that time. It really is awesome!

  2. Great images, Carol. Good for us that you can’t hike? 🙂 Hope the ice doesn’t last until Spring. 🙂

  3. Carol, do the churches have to put up plexiglass to protect the windows from punks with pellet guns and beer bottles (like they do down here)?

Leave a Reply

